skip to main content

The New Jersey Turnpike Authority

The New Jersey Turnpike Authority operates two of the busiest toll roads in the U.S. – the New Jersey Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway. Our roads provide the safest, quickest, and most convenient routes for thousands of drivers every hour of every day.


The Turnpike was the first modern-day toll road in New Jersey and the third in the nation when it opened in 1951. It has grown over time from 118 miles to 148 with the addition of the Newark Bay Hudson County Extension (1956), the Pearl Harbor Memorial Turnpike Extension (1956), the Western Spur (1970) and the I-95 Extension (1992). The road has grown wider over the years, too. Originally four lanes for its full length, it’s now as wide as 14 lanes in some areas. There are 378 toll lanes at the 30 interchanges. They include 148 entry lanes and 230 exit lanes. E-ZPass is accepted in all lanes at all plazas. There are express E-ZPass lanes at interchanges 1, 6, 18E, and 18W.  Cash is accepted in select lanes at all plazas except 19W, which is E-ZPass Only.

Find out more about the Turnpike’s rich history


The Parkway, which opened to traffic in 1954, passes through 50 municipalities in 10 counties between the Cape May-Lewes Ferry in Cape May and the New York State line at Montvale. The highway is still at its original four lanes south of milepost 35 in Atlantic County and north of milepost 168 in Bergen County, but it has grown much wider in between. It’s now 12 lanes at its widest point in Monmouth and Middlesex counties. The Parkway maintains a total of 365 exits and entrances. Tolls are collected at 49 locations, including 11 plazas on the main roadway and 38 on entrance or exit ramps. Express E-ZPass lanes operate at the Pascack Valley, Raritan, Asbury, Toms River, Barnegat and Cape May plazas.

Find out more about the Parkway's rich history